RANKINGS: Cole Henry ranks the top ten fighters in all 8 men’s divisions

By Cole Henry, MMATorch Contributor

Dec 29, 2018; Los Angeles, CA, USA; Jon Jones (red gloves) exits the octogon after his victory over Alexander Gustafsson (not pictured) during UFC 232 at The Forum. Mandatory Credit: Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports


1.       Daniel Cormier (UFC Heavyweight Champion)

2.       Stipe Miocic

3.       Francis Ngannou

4.       Junior Dos Santos

5.       Curtis Blaydes

6.       Ryan Bader (Bellator Heavyweight Champion)

7.       Derrick Lewis

8.       Alexander Volkov

9.       Alistair Overeem

10.   Cheick Kongo

 Notable Exceptions:

Cain Velasquez is 0-1 in the last three and a half years. While I have no doubt that he is still capable of beating top heavyweights, he hasn’t shown that ability in quite some time.


1.       Jon Jones (UFC Light-heavyweight Champion)

2.       Alexander Gustafson

3.       Ryan Bader (Bellator Light-heavyweight Champion)

4.       Vadim Nemkov

5.       Thiago Santos

6.       Anthony Smith

7.       Corey Anderson

8.       Dominick Reyes

9.       Jan Blachowicz

10.   Phil Davis

Notable Exceptions:

Volkan Oezdemir

Daniel Cormier Is the current UFC Heavyweight Champion and considering that he has stated he will only fight one or two more times; it seems unlikely that he will cut the weight to return to 205. For that reason, I’ve left him out of these rankings.


1.       Robert Whitaker (UFC Middleweight Champion)

2.       Gegard Mousasi (Bellator Middleweight Champion)

3.       Yoel Romero

4.       Israel Adesanya

5.       Kelvin Gastelum

6.       Ronaldo Souza

7.       Chris Weidman

8.       Jack Hermansson

9.       Derek Brunson

10.   Paulo Costa

Notable exceptions:

Luke Rockhold is moving up to light-heavyweight.


1.       Kamaru Usman (UFC Welterweight Champion)

2.       Tyron Woodley

3.       Colby Covington

4.       Rory McDonald (Bellator Welterweight Champion)

5.       Rafael Dos Anjos

6.       Santiago Ponzinibbio

7.       Ben Askren

8.       Jorge Masvidal

9.       Leon Edwards

10.   Darren Till


1.       Khabib Nurmagomedov (UFC Lightweight Champion)

2.       Tony Ferguson

3.       Dustin Poirier

4.       Justin Gaethje

5.       Michael Chandler

6.       Conor McGregor

7.       Al Iaquinta

8.       Kevin Lee

9.       Edson Barbosa

10.   Gregor Gillespie


1.       Max Holloway (UFC Featherweight Champion)

2.       Jose Aldo

3.       Brian Ortega

4.       Frankie Edgar

5.       Patricio Pitbull

6.       Alexander Volkanovski

7.       Renato Moicano

8.       Jeremy Stephens

9.       Mirsad Bektic

10.   Salaman Zhamaldaev (ACA Featherweight Champion)


1.       Marlon Moraes

2.       Kyoji Horiguchi (Rizin FF Bantamweight Champion)

3.       Raphael Assuncao

4.       Pedro Munhoz

5.       Aljamain Sterling

6.       John Lineker

7.       Cody Garbrandt

8.       Petr Yan

9.       Jimmie Rivera

10.   Cody Stamann

Notable exceptions:

Dominick Cruz hasn’t competed since 2016 and doesn’t currently have anything scheduled.

TJ Dillashaw is serving a two-year USADA suspension.



1.       Henry Cejudo (UFC Flyweight Champion)

2.       Demetrious Johnson

3.       Joseph Benavidez

4.       Jussier Formiga

5.       Deiveson Figueiredo

6.       Dustin Ortiz

7.       Alexandre Pantoja

8.       John Moraga

9.       Matheus Nicolau

10.   Rogerio Bontorin

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.