UFC 197 CONTESTS: Prediction and Betting Game Results

By Tom Strong, MMATorch UK Contributor

Some impressive scoring last night from many players. I’ll ignore the fact many favourites won and put it down to the intelligence of you, the players!

Demetrious Johnson made it eight consecutive title defences last night, putting on a show stopping performance defeating Henry Cejudo inside the 1st round to retain his Flyweight Title. Johnson is looking unstoppable as he clears out the Flyweight division, perching himself on top of that P4P list.  Jon Jones on the other hand was anything but great, putting on a very laboured performance in out-pointing Ovince St Preux over five rounds to win the Interim Light Heavyweight Title.

The first round of the World Cup was live this week, so have a look to see whether you made it into the second round or fell at the first hurdle!


28 people submitted an entry for this card. Here’s a combined breakdown of how many confidence points you placed on each fighter (Winner in bold):

Jon Jones -303
Ovince Saint Preux -0

Demetrious Johnson -244
Henry Cejudo -13

Edson Barboza -6
Anthony Pettis -130

Robert Whittaker -223
Rafael Natal -6

Yair Rodrigues -61
Andre Fili -44

Sergio Pettis -47
Chris Kelades -3

Danny Roberts -226
Dominique Steele -4

Carla Esparza -147
Juliana Lima -13

James Vick -118
Glaico Franca -12

Walt Harris -12
Cody East -100

Marcos Rogerio de Lima -29
Clint Hester -30

Kevin Lee -201
Efrain Escudero -1


Sean Simpson (72 points) beats Neal Hollic (70 points) to become the new MMATorch Confidence Picks Champion.

It was a short reign for Neal as champion, it all comes to an end after just one event. Despite scoring an impressive 70 points, it wasn’t enough to hold onto the title. Sean needed a good night to overcome the inform Neal and that’s exactly what he had. Scoring the joint highest score of 72 points to now become the new champion, well done Sean!

Scott Pipher and David Hughes both scored 72 points each to top the Confidence Pool so the winner would be decided on method of victory. As David failed to enter any methods of victory, Scott will now challenge Sean Simpson at UFC 198 for his title.

A number of players scored over 70 points or more this week, with Michael Douglas (71 points), Josh Brown (70 points), Brice Schroeder (70 points), Ben S (70 points) and Dan “Tucky” Moore within touching distance of adding more work and a headache to find the eventual winner!!

Here are the results of the Confidence Picks pool:

72- Scott Pipher
72- Dave “Give you a bruise” Hughes
71- Michael Douglas
70- Josh Brown
70- Brice Schroeder
70- Ben S
70- Dan “Tucky” Moore
69- James “The one and only” Brown
67- Ben Heather
67- David Lindahn
67- David Little
67- Charles Mickael
66- Malcolm Piper
66- Kevin Seng
66- John Lewish
66- Mark Sacchetti
64- Tommy “Gumbo” Strong
62- Richard Race
59- Brian Foe
57- Mac Kinder
55- Simon Kerry
54- Anthony Sinnott
54- Alex Potapoff
51- Cambo Nelson
47- Eugene Kim

Note: Should either champion, or challenger fail to submit picks for UFC 198 (Werdum vs. Miocic) Dave Hughes would step up as a challengers and so on. Everyone else will be fighting for the No 1 contender slot on the night, and the right to face off against either Sean or Scott at UFC 199.


David Lindahn ($933.59) beats Neal Hollic ($770.27) to retain his MMATorch Betting Title.

David Lindahn: $933.59

$300 on Esparza for $462.16

$300 on Vick for $471.43

Neal Hollic: $770.27

$500 on Esparza for $770.27

It was fun whilst it lasted for Neal Hollic, but it’s another early end to his reign as champion, as David Lindhan snatched the belt from him when Barboza claimed victory over Anthony Pettis.

Despite the high scoring in the confidence pool, the betting game was a polar opposite. Not one player managed to land their parlay bet and only three players broke even and they only managed a minimum profit on the $1000 stake.

Next up for David Lindahn will be none other than James “The one and only” Brown ($1302.22) with returning bets on Barboza and del Lima which was somehow was enough to top the pool. We’ve gone from the highest return ever return at UFC 196 to win the pool, to possibly the lowest ever amount at this event! Either way, well done James!

Here (in no particular order) are the results from the Betting Picks pool:

James “The one and only” Brown $1302.22

$300 on Barboza for $780

$300 on del Lima for $522.22

Sean Simpson: $1205

$300 on Barboza for $780

$300 on S.Pettis for $425

Scott Pipher: $1035.71

$300 on Esparza for $462.16

$300 on Rodriguez for $493.55

$50 on Barboza for $80

Michael Douglas: $932.16

$200 on Harris for $470

$300 on Esparza for $462.16

Malcolm Piper: $650

$250 on Barboza for $650

Charles Mickael: $628.57

$400 on Vick for $628.57

Kevin Seng: $522.22

$300 on de Lima for $522.22

Mark Sacchetti for $705

$300 on Harris for $705

Alex Potapoff: $367.21

$250 on Lee for $309.52

$50 on Jones for $57.69

Anthony Sinnott: $348.15

$200 on de Lima for $348.15

Simon Kerry: $462.16

$300 on Esparza for $462.16

Ben Heather: $329.03

$200 on Rodriguez for £329.03

Josh Brown: $0

John Lewish: $0

David Little: $0

Tommy Strong: $0

Brice Schroeder: $0

Brian Foe: $0

Mac Kinder: $0

Cambo Nelson: $0

Ben S: $0

Dan Moore: $0

Dave Hughes: $0

Eugene Kim: $0

Note: Should either champion, or challenger fail to submit picks for UFC 198 (Werdum vs. Miocic) Sean Simpson would step up as a challenger, and so on. Everyone else will be fighting for the No 1 contender slot on the night, and the right to face off against either David or James at UFC 199.

World Cup 1st Round Draw Results:

David Lindahn (67) def. Sam Martin (NS)
Alex Potapoff def. Jaymon1002 (NS)
David Little (67) def. Simon Kerry (55)
Scott Pipher (72) def. Lisa Smith (NS)
Mark Sacchetti (66) def. Malcolm Piper (66) *Method of Victory.
Sean Simpson (72) def. Neal Hollic (70)
Ben Heather (67) def. Brian Foe (59)
Ben S (70) def. John Lewish (66)
Eugene Kim (47) def. Joel Wielenga (NS)
Charles Mickael (67) def. Tommy Strong (64)
Richard Race (62) def. Mac Kinder (57)
Kevin Seng (66) def. Anthony Sinnott (54)
Josh Brown (70) def. Chris Wood (NS)
Michael Douglas (71) def. Dan Moore (70)
Browny (69) def. Cambo Nelson (51)
Dave Hughes (72) def. Brice Schroeder (70)

Performer of the Night: No stand out performers last night, but I’m handing the award to James Brown for somehow topping the Betting Pool with an underwhelming $1300!!  Also well done to Sean Simpson and David Lindahn for becoming new champions, and challenger Scott Pipher.

GOAT: It was a tough night for Neal Hollic losing both titles, so to top of his miserable night, I thought this would be the idea gift!

Thanks once again to everyone who takes part and interacts throughout the card, feel free to follow me on Twitter, @Strong_te

Attention iPhone/iPad and Android users, if you’ve enjoyed our app in the past and followed us there, or if you’ve never checked it out, make sure to update to the latest version in the Apple store and/or Google Play store. We’ve launched a new look for the app, in line with our recent desktop overhaul. Make sure to check it out!

For current App users, swipe right to view next article, swipe left to view previous article.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.